Getting a traffic ticket is frustrating. While it may just seem like a minor inconvenience at the time, a traffic ticket can cost you a considerable amount of money and even raise your insurance rates for up to three years. Don’t just pay your traffic ticket and move on with your life. There are ways you can fight these traffic violations and protect your driving record. To do this, you need a knowledgeable, skilled, and compassionate Colorado Springs traffic attorney from Liberty Law Center on your side!
Our Colorado Springs traffic attorneys can:
● Protect your driving record
● Keep your insurance rates down
● Beat your ticket
● Reduce your fines
● And more!
Most people think a traffic ticket is no big deal- just pay the fine, and move on. However, even one ticket can raise your car insurance rates for years, or if you happen to be unlucky enough to get one or two more tickets over a couple of years, you could potentially have your license suspended. While it may seem like a ticket is not as big of a deal as other offenses, tickets can become overwhelming when it comes to taking time out of your life, insurance consequences, and financial burdens.
Fighting these traffic violations on your own is not easy. Your life and your future are too important to risk. Don’t wait until you have multiple traffic violations on your record. Seeking the help of a skilled and knowledgeable attorney now will save you time, money, and headache in the future.
When you get a traffic ticket you must usually:
Take at least one day off work just to attend the initial meeting at court
Sit around for hours to wait for your 5-minute conversation with the prosecutor
If you decide to not attend court and just pay the fine, you may get a small reduction from the original ticket, though it is often more points than if you had gone to court and tried to speak with one of the prosecutors, even without an attorney.
When you hire one of our attorneys, we can help reduce the stress of these situations by handling the case for you and ensure the best possible outcome for your unique circumstances. Our initial consultation is free, so contact our office to see how we can take the stress out of this process for you.
Colorado Driver’s License Point System
In Colorado, most traffic violations carry “points.” The more serious the charge, the more points will be counted against your driver’s license. If you get too many points, your driver’s license can be suspended for up to 1 year. Too many points will also cause your car insurance rates to climb.
All drivers in Colorado start with 0 points on their driving record. The younger you are, the fewer points you need to accumulate to trigger a driver’s license suspension.
How many points are too many points?
Drivers 17 and under
○ 6 points or more within any 12 months
○ 7 or more points before you turn 18 years old.
Drivers 18 to 21
○ 9 or more within any 12 months
○ 12 or more within any 24 months
○ 14 or more before the age of 21
Drivers over 21
○ 12 or more points within 12 months
○ 18 or more points within 24 months
Having an experienced attorney on your side can ensure that your privilege to drive is protected, saving you from having to face the burden of not being able to drive and the financial and personal hardships that would cause.
Driver’s License Cases
The Liberty Law Center traffic attorneys are here to protect your driving privilege and your rights, in court and at DMV hearings. We represent people facing any kind of traffic offense.
Driving on a revoked (DUR) or suspended license (DUS)
Driving Under Revocation (DUR) is one of the most serious traffic offenses. If pulled over while driving under revocation for an alcohol-related offense, the officer can arrest you and make you post a bond.
If convicted of Driving Under Revocation, a conviction will extend the period of your license revocation, and can also include:
Fines up to $5,000
Jail time up to 6 months
30 days jail is Mandatory if your license is suspended due to a DUI
License suspensions extended for a longer period of time
Additional penalties such as probation, community service, classes/courses
There are ways to fight against these charges, however. Your attorney will need to examine your case to build the best defense. Some common defenses include errors in your driving record, whether you knew your license was suspended, and whether or not you were actually driving your vehicle.
Driver’s license suspension issues can be complicated and it is very important to know why your license is suspended, and when it was suspended. Many people are driving right now on a suspended license and don’t realize it. The attorneys at Liberty Law Center know how to help you avoid jail time, and they can assist in the process of reinstating your driver’s license as well.
Habitual Traffic Offender Laws
If your driver’s license is revoked in Colorado, you run the risk of being labeled a habitual traffic offender. This occurs when you have too many serious traffic convictions or too many points assessed against your license.
In Colorado, you need just 10 infractions that add 4 or more points to your license to get the habitual traffic offender label, or 3 serious traffic offenses (8 points or more).
Consequences of Habitual Traffic Offenses
The consequences for driving as a habitual traffic offender are severe. If the DMV has labeled you as a habitual traffic offender, you often face extended suspensions of your license (3-5 years), and you face far more significant penalties. A charge of Driving as a Habitual Traffic Offender is a class 1 misdemeanor- not a traffic offense- and carries penalties that include 6-18 months of jail and/or a fine of up to $5000.
Don’t find yourself in this situation- it can take years to clear up issues with your license- protect yourself from the start and save yourself from the severe consequences by always seeking the advice and counsel of one of Liberty Law Center’s experienced and compassionate attorneys.
Traffic tickets can significantly impact your ability to drive and maintain your independence. From speeding to driving in the wrong lane, traffic tickets can result in higher insurance premiums, hefty fines, and even the loss of your driver’s license.
At Liberty Law Center, we handle a wide range of cases involving traffic tickets or traffic summons including:
Driving on the wrong side of the road
Driving without a driver’s license
Failure to stop for school bus
Failure to use turn signals
Improper passing or turn
Leaving the scene of an accident
Following too closely
Failure to yield
Did you know that one traffic ticket could cost you more than you realize?
One traffic ticket, such as speeding, could have serious consequences. You may be aware of the points against your driver’s license and that you will be fined. Most people don’t realize that your insurance premiums will likely increase for several years based on even a minor offense.
Don’t take a traffic ticket lightly. Don’t pay your ticket without first reviewing your legal options with one of our Liberty Law Center attorneys. Fighting traffic tickets takes time and resources and extensive knowledge of Colorado traffic laws. At Liberty Law Center, we can make the process easier and make sure you know what consequences you may face.
Commercial Drivers are held to a higher standard of driving safety than other drivers. As such, when a CDL driver receives a ticket, even in their personal vehicle, there could be a serious effect on their ability to maintain their CDL, which could effect their ability to maintain their employment. A CDL ticket could absolutely cause you to lose your CDL privileges.
Did you know that there are several major or serious traffic offenses that could result in the complete loss of your CDL? These offenses include:
Causing a fatality due to the negligent operation of your vehicle
Driving a CMV on a suspended license
Speeding in excess of 15 mph
Making improper lane changes
Following too closely
Driving without a valid CDL
Using a handheld device while driving
Out-of-State Tickets & Traffic Charges
If you are a visitor to Colorado and issued a driving ticket, do not ignore these tickets and hope they go away. You may find the consequences more serious than you imagined.
Failure to pay your out-of-state ticket could result in the issue of a warrant for your arrest, a default judgment against you, or even the suspension of your driver’s license in your own state.
Most states maintain driving records and keep track of driving offenses. Colorado is a member of the Non-Resident Violators Compact. When you receive a ticket in Colorado, that ticket will be registered in the database and shared with your own state. This means that you will not escape punishment and fines. Your home state will take action and suspend your driver’s license if necessary as long as the ticket remains outstanding.
To avoid serious penalties and consequences, it is important to speak to an experienced traffic ticket attorney at Liberty Law Center immediately.
If you are revoked, you are generally not eligible for a work license or any other driving privilege unless you are eligible for a restricted interlock driver’s license. In some situations, you may be able to reinstate early. A suspension usually results from getting too many points and you are usually eligible for limited driving privileges for work, school and medical purposes if approved by the DMV.
What If I’m From Out Of State?2021-06-14T16:28:19+00:00
If you are a driver from another state, you are subject to the same laws and penalties as a Colorado-licensed driver. This also applies to the Colorado express consent laws. That means that as a condition of driving in Colorado, you agree to chemical testing if you are stopped by law enforcement. If you refuse a test, your driver’s license will most likely be revoked for one year. Even though you are not a Colorado citizen, this revocation can affect your driving privileges in your home state as well.
We represent out-of-state drivers charged with DUI and other traffic offenses here in Colorado, and we can help you with DMV issues that arise from you refusing a chemical test. Depending on the county in which you were charged, w can often resolve the situation for out-of-state clients without them having to return to Colorado.
I was under Revocation for some time and received a ticket. I have since gotten my license back and the district attorney is offering to allow me to plead guilty to a reduced charge. Should I take this offer?2021-03-27T16:38:34+00:00
Be careful. If you plead guilty to a traffic related violation that occurred while you were under Revocation/Denial/Suspension, the DMV is likely to once again revoke or suspend your driving privilege. Contact us to determine if the offer you are contemplating is a good one in your situation or to see if it can be improved.
The district attorney is likely to indicate to you that you are facing mandatory jail when charged with Driving Under Revocation/Suspension/Denial (mandatory 30 days jail for alcohol related revocations). Faced with these startling possibilities it is easy to understand why any offer not involving jail would sound good. However, accepting the wrong disposition can lead to once again losing your license. Contact us and we can discuss those issues and any possible defenses you may have.
How many points can I get before I lose my Driver’s License?2021-03-27T16:38:56+00:00
Depends on your age. If you are age 16-17 you are subject to suspension if you accumulate 6 points or more during any 12-month period or 7 points or more for the duration of your license. If you are 18-20 you are subject to suspension if you accumulate 9 points or more in any 12-month period, 12 points or more during any 24-month period or 14 points or more for the period of the license. If you are 21 or older you are subject to suspension if you accumulate 12 points or more in any 12-month period or 18 points or more over any 24-month period. However, for people under 21 years of age any drunk driving conviction, regardless of the number of points, results in a one-year revocation.
It can be difficult to determine if you are in danger of losing your license. Remember that points are figured based on date(s) of violation(s), not the day you pay the fine or show up in court and plead guilty. It is also based on the age you were on the date(s) of violation(s). You can go to DMV and request a copy of your DMV record and try to figure it out yourself. If you have any doubt or uncertainty contact us, and one of our experienced attorneys will review your record and help you to understand it and minimize the effects of any new offense.
Do you charge a consultation fee?2021-03-27T16:36:17+00:00
We offer Free Consultations on DUI, Criminal, and Traffic cases. Please call for our consultation fee on Family Law, Divorce, and Child Custody cases.
Don’t Let A Traffic Ticket Disrupt Your Life
While it may seem like a ticket is not as big of a deal as other offenses, tickets can become overwhelming when it comes to taking time out of your life, insurance consequences, and financial burdens.
For more than 40 years, Liberty Law Center has been helping people fight traffic violations and speeding tickets in Colorado traffic court. We represent drivers throughout Colorado, including Colorado Springs, Pueblo, Castle Rock, and Cripple Creek.
Complete a form or call today 719-578-1183 for a free consultation: