Experience you need.

Results you want.

At Austin, Katzman & Thom, P.C., we know the system. While this may be the first time you have charged with a DUI, our attorneys have gone through this process thousands of times, helping many good people during the course of our decades of DUI defense practice. We helped them, and now we are here to help you.

If you are charged with DUI, DUID, DWAI or underage drinking, we recommend you consult with an experienced DUI attorney here at the Liberty Law Center. We understand that being charged with a DUI is a very confusing and unsettling experience. Most people do not know, for example, that there are two processes involved in a DUI charge: the administrative part at the Department of Motor Vehicle which deals with your driver’s license, and the criminal process which takes place in Court.

The potential penalties from DUIs can greatly change your life. We believe in taking a personalized, hands-on approach to our cases, and will make certain to provide you with the legal representation you deserve.

Challenging the Evidence

A key aspect of our drunk driving defense at Austin, Katzman & Thom, P.C., is challenging the evidence in your DUI, DWAI, or DUID case. In fact, it is one of the first steps we take on behalf of our clients and, if successful, it can lead to dismissal of the charges. Our firm has over 30 years of experience handling these types of cases and we understand how to effectively examine evidence. We work hard to secure the best possible outcome for you.

In the process of challenging DUI evidence, we will cover every conceivable issue, asking such questions as:

  • Was the initial traffic stop or contact constitutional?
  • Were you properly questioned about the incident?
  • How accurate was the breathalyzer test or blood test used to determine your blood alcohol/drug content?
  • Were the police officers authorized to ask you to participate in a blood or breath test?
  • Were Department of Health rules and regulations complied with properly?
  • What errors or mistakes did the police make that can help your case?

Will I Lose My Driver’s License?

If you are over 21 and you submitted to a chemical test of your blood or breath, you will have the option to request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicle or DMV. Based on your Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) and what kind of test you chose, there are different procedures for requesting a hearing and whether you are more or less likely to be able to keep your license. There are strict time limits for requesting a DMV hearing. If you do not request a hearing, your driver’s license will automatically be revoked. At the Liberty Law Center we seek to expedite the entire process, handle all the nuances of the complicated system for you, and will work within the guidelines of the Department of Motor Vehicles to  ensure you have your privileges back as soon as possible. Since this process is so confusing and complicated, it is absolutely critical that you contact us at Austin, Katzman & Thom, P.C., as soon as you are charged with a DUI. Our firm has more than 30 years experience handling these types of cases and we can give you the best advice and representation to get you through this difficult time.

What happens if I refused a chemical test?

Colorado is an express consent state. That means that as a condition of having a Colorado driver’s license, you agree to chemical testing if you are stopped by law enforcement. If you refuse a test, your driver’s license will most likely be revoked for one year. If you refuse a second time, you will lose driving privileges for two years. However, you do have the right to request an administrative hearing to determine if the Colorado DMV has the right to revoke your license. For that reason it is absolutely critical that you contact us at the Liberty Law Center immediately.

Will I Go To Jail?

With any DUI related charge, there is always the possibility of jail time. On a first offense, the possible penalties can include five days to one year in jail and $600-$1,000 in fines. After a first offense there is mandatory jail time that the courts must impose on a DUI conviction. There is also a mandatory minimum jail sentence for a BAC over .200, regardless of whether this is your first offense or not. In Colorado, after you get three DUI or DWAI convictions, the 4th is a felony offense. That carries not only more strenuous financial penalties but it also puts you at risk of serving time in prison. At Austin, Katzman, & Thom, P.C., we will fight to keep you out of jail at all costs on a first offense, and if you are facing a 2nd or higher DUI charge, we can help you get the least amount of incarceration available. We also push to get our clients sentencing alternatives to jail such as work release or in home detention.

What if this is not my first DUI?

If you have been charged with repeat DUI offenses, the stakes are considerably higher. You are threatened with higher fines, more mandatory jail time, and longer periods of driver’s license revocation. At Austin, Katzman, & Thom, P.C., we care about our clients and understand that being charged with a DUI once is a stressful enough matter. Being charged with a repeat DUI offense is even more upsetting. You may worry about prison, your family, whether you will lose your job, or whether you will ever be able to drive again. We are here to address these concerns and provide you with realistic expectations based upon your case. Because we are a small law firm, each of our drunk driving defense lawyers is available to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve. We put our combined knowledge to work looking for creative resolutions to your repeat DUI case. Our goal is to minimize any penalties you face and secure the most favorable outcome possible, whether through plea bargain or, if necessary, aggressive trial representation.

What if I’m from out of state?

If you are a driver from another state, you are subject to the same laws and penalties as a Colorado-licensed driver. This also applies to the  Colorado express consent laws. That means that as a condition of driving in Colorado, you agree to chemical testing if you are stopped by law enforcement. If you refuse a test, your driver’s license will most likely be revoked for one year. Even though you are not a Colorado citizen, this revocation can affect your driving privileges in your home state as well. We represent out-of-state drivers charged with DUI here in Colorado, and we can help you with DMV issues that arise from you refusing a chemical test. Depending on the county in which you were charged, we can often resolve the situation for out of state clients without them having to return to Colorado.

What if I hurt someone when I was driving under the influence?

If you seriously injure someone while you are driving drunk, you may be charged with vehicular assault. This is a Class 4 felony with a potential prison sentence of four to 12 years. If you kill someone while driving under the influence, you could be charged with vehicular homicide, a Class 3 felony, punishable by prison time. When we defend a vehicular assault case, we get to work quickly to build a strong case. It is important to investigate the accident thoroughly. To do this, we may hire an accident reconstruction expert to interpret and analyze the evidence in your case. We go to the scene, interview witnesses, aggressively litigate motion issues, and whatever else is needed to build the strongest defense possible. Your very future and your freedom are at stake, and our attorneys take our DUI and DWI defense work very seriously. Our goal is to get the charges reduced, dismissed, or if necessary, take your case to trial.

Our Cases

Charge

Client charged with Driving Under the Influence of Drugs and was in a car accident. This was a 3rd offense with mandatory jail between 60 days to 1 year in jail.

Result

Our attorneys negotiated 180 days of In Home Detention and a guilty plea to the lesser offense of Driving While Ability Impaired with the District Attorney.
More Info

Charge

Client arrested for Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs in both Boulder and Las Animas Counties while on vacation in Colorado.

Result

Our attorneys got one case completely dismissed and secured a deferred sentence on the second case.  More Info.

Charge

Client charged with Driving Under the Influence and had 2 prior DUIs. Facing a mandatory minimum sentence of 60 days in jail.

Result

Our attorneys got the DUI charge dismissed and the client pled to a Careless Driving charge with no jail time. More Info

What should I do to get the best results possible?

If you seriously injure someone while you are driving drunk, you may be charged with vehicular assault. This is a Class 4 felony with a potential prison sentence of four to 12 years. If you kill someone while driving under the influence, you could be charged with vehicular homicide, a Class 3 felony, punishable by prison time. When we defend a vehicular assault case, we get to work quickly to build a strong case. It is important to investigate the accident thoroughly. To do this, we may hire an accident reconstruction expert to interpret and analyze the evidence in your case. We go to the scene, interview witnesses, aggressively litigate motion issues, and whatever else is needed to build the strongest defense possible. Your very future and your freedom are at stake, and our attorneys take our DUI and DWI defense work very seriously. Our goal is to get the charges reduced, dismissed, or if necessary, take your case to trial.

Intake Form

Colorado Springs

DUI Lawyers

When you need legal advice and a strong criminal defense for DUI charges, we can help. contact the lawyers at Liberty Law Center or email us for a free initial consultation. Call to schedule your consultation at 719-578-1183 or 303-795-0662.

First Name (required)

Last Name (required)

Email (required)

Phone (required)

Your Message