How do you start the divorce process?
In Colorado, you can start the divorce process by speaking with a divorce attorney at Liberty Law Center. This is the fastest and easiest way to begin the process of dissolving your marriage. Our lawyers are ready to start working on your case quickly, saving you both time and money in the long run.
How much does it cost to file for divorce in Colorado Springs?
When filing for divorce, the Petition fee is about $200, the main fee associated with filing for a divorce. There is also a fee to serve the other party, and there are other filing fees with each document that you file. These fees can add up, but by the end of the case may end up costing about $500 (depending on the specifics of the case). Our lawyers can help review your case and give you a better idea of the costs you may expect.
How long does it take to get divorced in Colorado?
The duration of divorce is highly variable. It depends on the complexity of the case, and whether or not the case is contested.
If you and your soon-to-be ex-spouse are able to work together to negotiate a settlement of the case, it can be reasonably quick and (relatively) painless. However, oftentimes with the raw emotion of a divorce, one or both parties are not willing or not able to compromise and negotiate. This very often leads to a longer and more complicated divorce.
A divorce must take at least 91 days. Even if you have everything settled and wrapped up with a pretty pink bow… you have to wait the full 91 days. The Courts sometimes call this a “cooling off” period, the idea being that you may use that time to reflect and reconsider and choose to stay married. This clock begins the day that you serve your spouse with the petition for divorce after it has been filed with the Court.
That said, a divorce very commonly takes longer than 91 days. If there are any issues that cannot be resolved through negotiation, the parties will require the Court to decide those issues. Unfortunately, the court system is slow. A contested divorce can regularly take 6-12 months.
An experienced attorney, like those you will find at Liberty Law Center, can deftly navigate the potential hurdles in the legal system. An experienced attorney can help resolve issues via negotiation, and if they must be heard by a judge, this attorney can help get the wheels in motion faster, get you in front of a judge faster, and get this chapter of your life closed faster.
How do you serve divorce papers?
You cannot serve the documents yourself. A disinterested party, over the age of 18, may serve the documents to the other party. The easiest way to serve your spouse with divorce papers is to use a private process server or the sheriff’s department. You can also call our law firm and let us handle this for you.
What if you can’t find your spouse?
If you can’t find your spouse, you must file a motion with the Court to serve your spouse by publication. The Court tends to not favor this approach, and requires you to make sure that you have exhausted all options prior to serving them via publication. At Liberty Law Center, we can help you explore all of the avenues to find the spouse, to ensure that the Court allows this method.
How do you respond to being served divorce papers?
If you are served divorce papers, you only have a specific amount of time to respond. Call our law firm immediately to begin exploring your options. We can protect your future and safeguard your assets throughout the process.
What are things to consider before filing for divorce?
When filing for divorce, you need to make sure you have the Petition for Dissolution, Case Information Sheet, Summons, and any fee waiver document you have. You must then submit an Affidavit before serving your spouse. The paperwork required for filing for divorce can be overwhelming. For this reason, it is important to seek legal guidance. We can help you through the process and make sure you aren’t missing things that could be vital to your happiness and your future.
Is there a waiting period for a Colorado Springs divorce to be finalized?
If you are legally separated in Colorado, you must wait six months before you can pursue a divorce. Once you file the Petition for divorce, the judge can grant the divorce in as little as 91 days. However, it often takes longer.