How Much Does a DUI Lawyer Cost in Colorado?
The cost of an experienced DUI lawyer will vary based on the type of representation you need and the severity of your case. However, a recent study conducted by CDOT says the average cost is $3,650 to hire a lawyer to defend you after a DUI arrest. While this might seem costly, it is a small price to pay to protect your driving record and your future.
Can a DUI be dismissed in Colorado?
Yes! It is possible to have your DUI dismissed in the state of Colorado, and having the right defense attorney increases those chances.. Your attorney can fight to have the charges reduced to a lesser offense or even dismissed, especially if this is your first offense.
What happens when you get a DUI for the first time in Colorado?
When you get a DUI in Colorado for the first time, you face numerous penalties and consequences. You face the loss of your driver’s license, hefty fines, and increased insurance premiums. You also have a misdemeanor on your criminal record. Many drivers arrested for DUI in Colorado also spend time in jail and must undergo community service or alcohol classes.
How long do DUIs stay on your record in Colorado?
A DUI stays on your record forever in the state of Colorado. However, the “look back” period for which past DUI convictions can impact you is 5 years. This is important if you’re arrested for a subsequent DUI. If your first DUI is still within that lookback period, you can face even harsher penalties and consequences for subsequent DUIs.
Can you be charged with DUI after the fact in Colorado?
Yes, if the police believe that there is enough evidence to suggest that you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs when you were driving, you can face DUI charges. When this occurs, you need an experienced Colorado Springs DUI attorney who can fight for you and your future.
How much is a first time DUI in Colorado?
Getting a DUI is more expensive than many people realize. Even first-time DUI offenses can cost a significant amount of money. According to the Colorado Department of Transportation, the average cost of a DUI is $13,530. This includes attorney fees, ignition interlock devices, fines, and more.