Under Colorado law, your driver’s license can be revoked due to many different criminal traffic violations. However, if an offender continues to drive on their revoked license, they can be subject to serious legal penalties. Colorado law enforcement is tough on drivers who drive without a license because their license was usually revoked because of major criminal traffic violations like reckless driving or driving under the influence. You can avoid both driver’s license revocation and the harsh penalties for driving under a suspended license if you get the help of a Colorado criminal defense attorney after an arrest for a criminal traffic offense.

The Colorado driver’s license suspension and revocation laws are meant to protect people on the state’s roads and highways from dangerous drivers. The law states that the DMV aims to “provide safety for all persons using the highways of this state by quickly revoking the driver’s license of any person who has shown himself or herself to be a safety hazard,” according to Colorado law section 42-2-126. Cases where Colorado law enforcement will commonly suspend or revoke a license include indiviudals convicted of a DUI with a BAC level of above 0.08 percent, the legal limit for DUI in Colorado. If the person convicted of a DUI was under 21 years of age, their license can be revoked if their BAC was over 0.05 and in some cases over 0.02 percent. A license can also be suspended if the person refuses a blood alcohol test.

In order to get a license suspended, the driver must appear before an administrative panel of officials at the Colorado DMV. A defense lawyer can and should be present in order to argue in front of officials that the driver should be able to keep their driving privileges within the state. A Colorado criminal defense attorney with experience in DUI or reckless driving cases mean the difference between a suspended or revoked license and the ability to drive freely.